News Stories

The 2022 Malcolm McIvor winners have been announced!


Malcolm McIvor was one of the key people in ICI who helped establish CPACT in 1997 and he played a prominent role in project supervision during the early stages of CPACT’s activities. Malcolm enjoyed his engagement with CPACT and has generously endowed a prize to be awarded annually to a researcher in recognition of that individual’s achievement in process analytics and control technologies.

The prize recognises excellence in terms of scientific achievement, creative thinking and/or engagement between academia and industry.

The CPACT Chairman and the selection panel, comprised of academic and industrial members of the CPACT Industrial Management Board, decided that we would have joint winners this year. The winners are Max Mowbray from the University of Manchester and Cai Li Song from Imperial College London. 

Max said “I am very happy to have jointly received the Malcolm McIver prize this year. I would like to thank my PhD supervisors Dr. Dongda Zhang and Dr. Antonio Del Rio Chanona, as well as Prof. Phil Martin for their support. I look forward to engaging with CPACT further this year, as I undertake an EPSRC Doctoral Prize Fellowship at the University of Manchester'”

Cai Li said “It is a great honour for me and I am truly overwhelmed to receive the CPACT Malcolm Mclvor Prize. I am immensely grateful to be recognized for my hard work. I would like to thank all of you who believe in me and encourage me to get this far”.

Congratulations Max and Cai Li!